Overtime Payroll Requirements You Need to Know for Your State

February 23, 2016 Jordan Nottrodt

Overtime by State

Are you more of a visual learner? Check out this Overtime Infographic, complete with A Map of Overtime Requirements by State.

As with Minimum Wage, it is the employer’s responsibility to calculate and provide overtime payroll.

This means you need to pay employees the required rate increase if they work above the legal maximum workweek or workday hours.

Overtime is calculated at 1.5 times the employee’s regular hourly rate, multiplied by the number of overtime hours worked.

The qualification for overtime pay varies by state, with some of the states taking on the federal rules, and others setting their own requirements (even if they happen to be the same as the Federal requirement.)

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), federal overtime rules apply after 40 hours are worked in any given workweek.

Most states that have set their own overtime requirements have also decided that overtime begins after 40 hours in any given workweek. The calculation here will be the same, but it's important to know if your company is required to follow the federal or state legislation when it comes to overtime.

To complicate matters further, some states that set their own overtimes rules carry a long list of exceptions.

For example, a state may say that overtime pay kicks in after 40 hours worked in a given week… Unless, you are an employee in X industry. In some cases, exceptions could apply based on how many employees you have working for you, or your company's total gross annual sales.

Additional pay for working nights or weekends is a matter decided by the employer and the employee.

When it comes to overtime in the US, the rules are messy, which is why you should always verify your overtime compliance with your own legal and human resource professionals.

What are the overtime payroll rules that apply to your state?

We've created a comprehensive table of overtime pay requirements and rules by state, and we've alphabetized it so you can easily find your state below.

State

Overtime Requirements

Additional Rules and Exceptions

 Alabama

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Alaska

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 hours in a week or 8 hours in a day.

Employers with less than 4 employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule.

In Alaska, there are many overtime exemptions for specific industries. For a full list, check Alaska's government website here.

 Arizona

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Arkansas

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Employers with less than 4 employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule.

Agricultural employees are also exempt.

 California

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 hours in a week or 8 hours in a day.

Overtime pay is also required for the first eight hours of the 7th day worked in a week.

Double pay is required for any hours worked over 12 in a day or for hours worked over eight on any 7th day of a workweek.

 Colorado

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 hours in a week or 12 hours in a day.

 

 Connecticut

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Delaware

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 D.C.

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Florida

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Georgia

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Hawaii

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Idaho

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Illinois

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Employers with less than four employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule.

 Indiana

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Iowa

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Kansas

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 46 in a week.

 

 Kentucky

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Overtime pay is also required for the 7th day worked in a week.

 Louisiana

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Maine

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Maryland

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

The overtime pay threshold is higher for certain industries including hospitality, hospitals and agricultural work.

Look for details on the Maryland government website by clicking here.

 Massachusetts

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Michigan

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Minnesota

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 48 in a week.

 

 Mississippi

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Missouri

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Montana

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Nebraska

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Nevada

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 New Hampshire

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 New Jersey

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 New Mexico

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 New York

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

For residential employees, overtime pay is required for all hours worked beyond 44 hours in week.

Frequently Asked Overtime Questions for New York are available here.

 North Carolina

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 North Dakota

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Ohio

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Oklahoma

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Oregon

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Pennsylvania

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Rhode Island

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Retail and other specified businesses must also pay overtime for work on Sundays and holidays.

See the specifications here.

 South Carolina

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 South Dakota

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Tennessee

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Texas

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Utah

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Vermont

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Employers with less than two employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule.

 Virginia

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

 Washington

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 West Virginia

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

Employers with less than six employees are exempt from the state's overtime pay rule.

 Wisconsin

Overtime pay is required for hours worked over 40 in a week.

 

 Wyoming

Federal overtime rules apply.

 

The information contained in the chart above was sourced and fact checked on a number of websites, including state specific government sites. Payroll rules change and include many exceptions and special circumstances when it comes to overtime requirements. Readers should consult with legal and human resource professionals or other regulatory governing bodies as required in their particular circumstances.

About the Author

Jordan Nottrodt

Jordan comes from a background of agency communications and strategic problem solving. She is passionate about inbound marketing and believes that the best content comes from knowing your audience and giving them exactly what they want. Working remotely for Wagepoint, she has been able to pursue her other passion of travelling the world one city at a time. Spark an immediate and detailed conversation with Jordan by mentioning Mad Men or Game of Thrones.

More Content by Jordan Nottrodt
Previous Article
Infographic: A Map of Overtime Requirements by State
Infographic: A Map of Overtime Requirements by State

In the US, overtime rates and rules differ depending on the state in which your employees work. Use our Ove...

Next Article
What Your Business Needs to Know About the Affordable Care Act
What Your Business Needs to Know About the Affordable Care Act

As a small business owner, you can now offer employees health coverage using the SHOP marketplace. In our p...