Minimum Wage Requirements by State

United States Minimum Wage 2016

Updated for January 1, 2020

This blog post is written for American businesses. If you run a Canadian company, click here for a list of Minimum Wage Requirements in Canada.

Minimum wage is the lowest hourly pay rate that an employer can pay an employee.

In the United States, the federal government issues a nationwide minimum wage. The current federal minimum is $7.25/hour, and generally, all states must pay no less than the statutory minimum wage.

Each state is able to set their own minimum wage as long as it is above the federal minimum. Currently, many of them have done so.

American employers are required to pay employees, at least, the minimum wage set by their state. It is the employer’s responsibility to adhere to the minimum wage requirements of their state or the federal minimum when applicable.

Service and hospitality workers who are tipped employees have their own minimum cash wage requirements, including a federal minimum of $2.13/hour. In turn, their tips make up the balance toward minimum wage or above.

 To check out the most current wage rates, here's the DOL webpage. Each state is also linked to its wage and hour information. 

State

Minimum Wage

Planned
Increases

 Alabama

$7.25 

Alabama has no state minimum wage law. 

 Alaska

$10.19

January 1 each year 

 Arizona

$12.00

January 1 each year

 Arkansas

$10.00 (for employers with 4 or more employees)

$11.00 January 1, 2021

 California

$12.00 (25 or fewer employees)

$13.00 (26 or more employees)

(Several cities also have their own minimum wage laws)

$13.00/$14.00 January 1, 2021 (25 or less employees/26 or more employees)

$14.00/$15.00 January 1, 2022

$15.00/$15.00 January 1, 2023

 Colorado

$12.00

($8.98 for tipped employees)

January 1 each year

 Connecticut

$10.10

 

 Delaware

$9.25

 

Washington D.C.

$14.00

$15.00 July 1, 2020

 Florida

$8.56

January 1 each year

 Georgia

$7.25 

($5.15 for employees not covered under FLSA)

 

 

 Hawaii

$10.10

 

 Idaho

$7.25

 

 Illinois

$8.25

 

 Indiana

$7.25

 

 Iowa

$7.25

 

 Kansas

$7.25

 

 Kentucky

$7.25

 

 Louisiana

$7.25 

 

 Maine

$12.00

January 1 each year

 Maryland

$10.10

 

 Massachusetts

$12.75

$13.50 January 1, 2021

$14.25 January 1, 2022

$15.00 January 1, 2023

 Michigan

$9.65

$9.87 January 1, 2021
$10.10 January 1, 2022
$10.33 January 1, 2023
$10.56 January 1, 2024
$10.80 January 1, 2025
$11.04 January 1, 2026
$11.29 January 1, 2027
$11.54 January 1, 2028
$11.79January 1, 2029
$12.05 January 1, 2030

 Minnesota

$10.00

($8.15 for employees with >$500,000 in annual sales volume)

January 1 each year

 Mississippi

$7.25 

 

 Missouri*

$9.45

$10.30 January 1, 2021

$11.15 January 1, 2022

$12.00 January 1, 2023

 Montana

$8.65

($4.00 for Employers grossing <$110,000 in annual sales and not covered by FLSA)

January 1 each year

 Nebraska

$9.00

 

 Nevada

$8.25

($7.25 if the firm provides health insurance)

 

New Hampshire**

$7.25 

 

 New Jersey

$11.00

$12.00 January 1, 2021

$13.00 January 1, 2022

$14.00 January 1, 2023

$ 15.00 January 1, 2024

 New Mexico

$7.50

 

 New York

$11.80

$12.50 December 31, 2020

 New York City

$15.00 

($13.00 for Long Island & Westchester)

December 31 each year

 North Carolina

$7.25

 

 North Dakota

$7.25

 

 Ohio

$8.70 (for businesses grossing >$319,000 per in annual sales)

January 1 each year

 Oklahoma***

$7.25

($2.00 if a company has >10 employees or grosses >$100,000 in sales)

 

 Oregon

$11.25

$12.00 July 1, 2020

$12.75 July 1, 2021

$13.50 July 1, 2022

 Pennsylvania

$7.25

 

 Rhode Island

$10.50

 

 South Carolina

$7.25 

 

 South Dakota

$9.30

January 1 each year

 Tennessee

$7.25 

 

 Texas

$7.25

 

 Utah

$7.25

 

 Vermont

$10.96

 January 1 each year

 Virginia

$7.25

 

 Washington

$13.50

January 1 each year

 West Virginia

$8.75

 

 Wisconsin

$7.25

 

 Wyoming

$7.25

 

*Missouri - The minimum wage requirements do not apply for federally covered employment, and the law exempts employees of a retail or service business grossing less than $500,000.

**New Hampshire – The minimum wage requirements do not apply to employees engaged in household labor, domestic labor, farm labor, outside sales representatives, summer camps for minors, newspaper carriers, non-professional ski patrol and golf caddies.

***Oklahoma – "The law defines an “employer” as having ten or more full-time workers in one place OR more than $100,000 of business a year." If you do not meet these requirements you fall under the $2.00/hour minimum wage. The $2.00 minimum wage also applies to full-time students.

The advice we share on our blog and in our webinars is intended to be informational. It does not replace the expertise of working with accredited business professionals.

About the Author

Erika Yohn

Erika is a savvy Millenial on Wagepoint's marketing team. Now a retired soccer player, she spends a lot of time browsing Twitter to stay updated on the current trends - especially when it comes to memes. With a hand in all things marketing, she likes to keep things fun and useful for Wagepoint's customers.

Visit Website More Content by Erika Yohn
Previous Article
Minimum Wage Requirements in Canada
Minimum Wage Requirements in Canada

Use this table to make sure you are aware of the current minimum wage requirements for your province or ter...

Next Article
Statutory Holidays With Worker Eligibility and Pay Out
Statutory Holidays With Worker Eligibility and Pay Out

Employers in Canada are required by law to observe statutory holidays as per federal, provincial and territ...

×

First Name
Last Name
Country
!
Thank you!
Error - something went wrong!